Gallery

Because We Can: Retro Kitchens


Retro kitchens have suddenly become trendy.  Go figure.  Grandma’s avocado green appliances and velvet wallpaper aren’t sounding so repulsive any more, apparently.  As a matter of fact, I’m considering buying a 105 year old house that a lot of this retro stuff would really work in (maybe not the burnt orange oven and range, but more stuff would look good than not).   Check it out.  Each picture (except one or two — shudder) has at least one element that is cropping up in modern kitchens, particularly colour.  Is this a decorating style that moves you?

Mint green, aqua, butter yellow, and pink were the hot tamale in the 1950s.  A bright, quirky throwback.  And I love the hidden storage in this kitchen!

Mint green, aqua, butter yellow, and pink were the hot tamale in the 1950s. A bright, quirky throwback. And I love the hidden storage in this kitchen!

The eat-in kitchen was huge in the 1970s, and in older homes, there is no seperate dining room.  Not great for dinner parties, but works for a nuclear family...

The eat-in kitchen was huge in the 1970s, and in older homes, there is no seperate dining room. Not great for dinner parties, but works for a nuclear family…

Not sure how I feel about the green and red combo, but each colour on it's own is neat.  I also like the breakfast bar.  Again, nice for eat-in kitchens.

Not sure how I feel about the green and red combo, but each colour on it’s own is neat. I also like the breakfast bar. Again, nice for eat-in kitchens.

This kitchen is almost exactly like the kitchen my parents had in their first place -- a mobile home in a trashy little trailer park on the outskirts of town.  Quick note on moden craftsmanship: the refrigerator is still running, 35 years later.  Nowadays, you're lucky to get 8 years from an appliance.

This kitchen is almost exactly like the kitchen my parents had in their first place — a mobile home in a trashy little trailer park on the outskirts of town.   Even the colour scheme is the same.  Quick note on modern craftsmanship: the refrigerator is still running, 35 years later. Nowadays, you’re lucky to get 8 years from an appliance.

Loving the brick!  1970s kitchens were full of dark wood (or genuine artificial veneered wood products) and brick (or brick wallpaper or brick board).  Regardless, the real deal still piques my interest.  I like the cupboards, too, actually...

Loving the brick! 1970s kitchens were full of dark wood (or genuine artificial veneered wood products) and brick (or brick wallpaper or brick board). Regardless, the real deal still piques my interest. I like the cupboards, too, actually…

...I have no response to this one.  WTF??

…I have no response to this one. WTF??

Avocado green!  Still a great colour.  You know you like it.

Avocado green! Still a great colour. You know you like it.  And the double wall oven is still a fantastic convenience.

This one gives me a headache, not to mention the fact that it looks suspiciously like there's carpet on the floor.  Gross.  And the floating desk -- while an interesting idea -- just looks weird.

This one gives me a headache, not to mention the fact that it looks suspiciously like there’s carpet on the floor. Gross. And the floating desk — while an interesting idea — just looks weird.  The washing machine in the background, though, is intriguing.  It’s more popular in Europe than North America, but I like it.

Love it.  Airy and welcoming.  Guess I'm a sucker for the '50s over the '70s.  Although I'd be willing to give wallpaper in the kitchen a try.  Because I'm an idiot, I suppose.

Love it. Airy and welcoming. Guess I’m a sucker for the ’50s over the ’70s. Although I’d be willing to give wallpaper in the kitchen a try. Because I’m an idiot, I suppose.

The floor definitely grabs your attention, doesn't it?  Very minimalist, in a way, but it seems to lack storage.  That would suck, especially if you have lots of gadgets or two sets of dishes.

The floor definitely grabs your attention, doesn’t it? Very minimalist, in a way, but it seems to lack storage. That would suck, especially if you have lots of gadgets or two sets of dishes.

A, uh, modern take on the retro kitchen.  Sweet Jesus.  Don't.  Just... don't.

A, uh, modern take on the retro kitchen. Sweet Jesus. Don’t. Just… don’t.

Leave a Reply

